Singapore Society of Ophthalmology

memberorg_logo_singaporeThe Singapore Society of Ophthalmology (SSO) was established on January 11, 1963, under the umbrella of the Singapore Medical Association. The Society began with 13 members but has since grown to over 150 members. All registered ophthalmologists, fellows and residents in training are members of the Society. The Society was established to promote interest in and the study of ophthalmology and to liaise with similar bodies in other countries.

Since the inauguration of the College of Ophthalmologists, Singapore in 2009, the main functions of the SSO have been to promote collegiality among its members; encourage and facilitate community outreach and humanitarian programs in Singapore and regionally; maintain and build close ties with regional and international ophthalmic societies; contribute to regional and international organizations such as the APAO and International Council of Ophthalmology (IOC); as well as support the College in academic and professional matters, continuing education and congress activities. Through these efforts, the SSO hopes to continue serving the eye community, ensuring growth and development in a holistic way.

A/Prof. Marcus ANG
Term: 2022 – 2023

Contact Information:
Ms. Amy Lim
Singapore Society of Ophthalmology
c/o Singapore National Eye Centre,
11 Third Hospital Avenue, Singapore 168751
Phone: +65-6322-8374
Fax: +65-6227-7290